Place 1: Avalon

I’m sitting at the counter at Avalon Bakery, which feels like the heart & soul of my immediate neighborhood. It was instantly familiar from my very first time here, when my sister had 4 of us, all in from San Francisco Bay for the holidays, meet there. I was jet-lagged but happy, & pleased to discover that I could get a perfect latte & a good wifi connection, which is all that I ask in a coffeehouse. This was essential when I moved down here, esp. before I got my gas turned on & my internet connection hooked up.

But Avalon isn’t really a coffeehouse, it’s a serious bakery. I have seen that the lights go on every morning around 4:00, when they start baking. I heard a rumor that they open at 6:00, but I wouldn’t know about that. I just know that when I roll out of bed I can meander across the street & get the morning started. I sip my latte, eat breakfast, read the news, write email – all the hallmarks of civilization.

This is the perfect place to sit & update this blog, describing the places in Detroit as I discover them. So right now I’m blogging about blogging about the place that I’m blogging from, which is kind of a hint that I don’t need any more coffee & should probably get going…

About sohowaboutthis

sohowaboutthis is James McMullen. I blog to remember.
This entry was posted in Detroit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment