Place 4: Detroit Hardware Company

How do businesses survive down here? Detroit has (as you may have heard) a problematic economy, but some little businesses are thriving, & others have been around a long time. A very long time: Detroit Hardware has been at the same address on Woodward, near Grand Blvd, since 1924, same family. 1924!

It’s a perfectly up-to-date old-time hardware store – not your generic chain store franchise cookie cutter,  but with its own character. If you need a plumber’s bob (I really wanted one – I don’t know why) or kerosene lamp supplies (ditto, but I’m too clumsy, & still don’t have a fire extinguisher at home) or those laundry scrubber washboard thingies or any of an enormous variety of cast iron skillets & cast iron pans & mysteriously shaped cast iron baking (?) implements (I got a skillet, sturdy enough to last until the sun burns out), or hand-cranked whipped-cream stirrer things (which I bought, don’t know why, so I returned it a few days later), or more essential hardware supplies like Raintree Green wall paint & picture frame hooks & Food Safe Wood Oil & red buckets, all of which brought me back there many times.

Note to self: go back there & buy a fire extinguisher. Also, I so need this cast iron wok-like thing:

Detroit Hardware Company, cast iron wok

I so need this.

About sohowaboutthis

sohowaboutthis is James McMullen. I blog to remember.
This entry was posted in Detroit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment